Skip to content

Bye Bye Bamberg

July 8, 2010

What a trip. I’ll work in reverse. On Monday the 5th of July, I tried to leave, and it made me so sad to know that if I ever do return to Bamberg, the same people will not be there. I grew really attached to the group of friends Sam made from all over the world. Luckily, they all plan to stay in touch, so maybe one day we can take a road trip to see them. And of course, everyone is welcome in Colorado. I booked the trip back to Annecy so long ago, and I wasn’t aware of the 2 or 3 different train stations called Frankfurt Main. So, I managed to get myself to Frankfurt, but not the airport. On top of that, I have been so used to traveling by train I forgot the mess of airports checking in, security lines, and the waiting that comes in between. One hour was certainly not enough to check in and then travel; through one of the largest airports in the world. For the first time in my life I missed a flight, and consequently missed any chance of making my connecting flight to Geneva. How much would it have been to catch the next flight to Geneva? Two thousand Euros…. More money than I have! Flying out the next day was still expensive, but much more reasonable one hundred euros. The woman helping me agreed to help find me a cheep hotel, one night for around seventy euros. But I had one other option… staying the night back in Bamberg! This cost less than  getting a hotel, and I could spend one more night sharing a twin sized bed with Sam. Trust me, it is more comfortable and manageable than I thought. Thank God I charged my phone, I was able to call him and make arrangements for him to pick me up at 8pm. Bonus night in Bamberg. We went to Fassla to meet up with some friends, they were all surprised to see me. It was funny to run in to Dimitri on the bus before he knew I was coming back. At Fassla we saw Sean, Adam, Sabinia, Chad, Traci, Jeff, Kyle, Kristina, Dimetri, and a few others I’m sure. I had one last dooner for dinner, a cheap alternative to sandwiches that I will surely miss in France. The next morning we met Jason for brunch downtown, and then went for some ice cream. Then Sam took me to the train station and we said our goodbyes it was harder than I thought it would be. Since it is so expensive to get from Annecy to Bamberg, or Bamberg to Annecy, we probably won’t see each other for a few months.

The highlights of my Back in Bamberg trip included going to the public viewings of the Germany World Cup matches. They won both times and it was so cool to be surrounded by a crowd of patriotic Germans it was obvious which team each person supported, with beer in one hand, and German flags in the other. When Germany scored the crowd went wild screaming and hollering, confetti in the air, beer in the air, and ecstatic viewers all around. I can’t really think of a similar thing in the US. I mean, we paid 2 euros to get in, but it wasn’t like going to a stadium or anything. A big screen displayed the match, and we were just fenced in the center square with a few beer and pretzel stands. After one of the matches, we went for a celebratory spaghetti ice. They make vanilla ice cream look like noodles, pour some strawberry sauce on top, and then sprinkle white chocolate shavings on top. This time around  I got to visit the most beautiful beer garden in town- Spezial Keller. It is quite a walk to get up the hill, but well worth the view. One night afterwords, we went to the highest point in Bamberg. It was a half hour walk up hill, and it would have been dreadful during the day, but at twilight it was perfect. The city lights were just starting to come out, and each church was lit up in all its glory. Bye Bye Bamberg… you will be missed!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

