Skip to content

French Toast

June 19, 2010

Finally, I was able to go out with all the IFALPES students! It was so unfortunate that France lost to Mexico, 0-2, but we all managed to have a good time. Nothing like drinking a few beers in the center ville, followed by a some wine in a nearby French apartment. In all reality, the landscape here is the perfect setting for a happy-go-lucky life style, and I am so gracious to experience life in Annecy. Crazy to think I have been in Europe for a month now, and I still have a little over two months to go. And I’m being perfectly honest, I haven’t experienced all that much culture shock since being here. I think the reverse culture shock will be much more severe.

(Before I forget, dinner was a cheese soufle, a simple salad, and a wonderful pineapple dessert. The dessert sounded really easy to make, orange juice, rum and a few spices made the sauce for slices of tender pineapple.)

Today at school I felt like I actually understood my teacher! We had class as usual, and then she told us of the Appeal of June 18th. Afterwords, we had a group sing-a-long with all the other classes to learn the words of the Degora songs performed in Annecy tonight. Click here if you want to learn the songs too! Don’t worry if you do not recognize the language, it is made up. The other cool thing about this video is the guy is walking around the lake in Annecy! So you can get a taste of what it is like to see such grand mountains just beside a huge lake.

Tonight I had dinner with Daniele. We had basil pasta with salmon, goat cheese, brucchetta, and for dessert: FRENCH TOAST. With the last few slices of bread from a few days ago, she made really thick slices of french toast with sliced cherries on the side. They were in some sort of sauce, not too sweet but sweet enough to be a dessert. Then, I had a really fun night with my roommate, Guillaume, and some friends from school. We started out by the lake, and ended up at Rivers Bar. A few people left for a body painting party, but all in all, it didn’t sound like my cup of tea, so I laid low and caught up with fellow classmates. The bartender was Irish, and was really excited to speak English to us. Later, I had a heart to heart with Guillaume, and we discussed how it is so different to live with a family, or host mom, than living alone. I exclaimed, “Well, it is just hard to have a Mom!” because it is difficult to always have some one to report back to, and make plans with so far in advance all the time. It is very different from home because I have arranged to eat every dinner with Daniele, and I am grateful for the wonderful cooking, don’t get me wrong, but I must here for dinner each day. And a sort of independence is lost from always having to be home by 7pm, and also having to explain each and every vacation plan, whether it is for evening plans, the plans for a day away, or even the plans to go on a week’s vacation. Similar to living at home, but it is hard to get used to another set of norms enforced by what was a complete stranger. I’m sure I will get used to it as time goes on, but it is different to not have a car or any sort of way to really be alone, ya know? And understand I love learning about French culture through Daniele, she is so helpful to explain why things are they way they are here. More likely than not, I am just feeling a little homesick, or maybe I am just feeling like I need a bit of solitude, but I am sure the feeling will pass. On another note, I can’t wait to visit Germany again! One week from today I will be on my way!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jim & Terrey permalink
    June 19, 2010 1:04 pm

    It’s morning in America!
    Your blog is wonderful, Megan. It’s almost as if we were there with you, if not in presence then in spirit. Take care, and know that we are so impressed with all that you are doing. Love you,
    Jim and Terrey.

Leave a Reply

